1. Home
  2. /
  3. Articles
  4. /
  5. The list of top architecture scholarships in the U.S.

The list of top architecture scholarships in the U.S.

Written by:
Michael Fowler
INSPIRELI AWARDS 4th annual LEGO workshop

Architecture firmly holds its place among top degrees students choose to undertake. Many people strive to construct buildings, renovate ramshackle premises, and many more. Experienced architects know their way around and are well-paid specialists. But with all the benefits come hard work and lots of practice.

Architecture courses are one of the most prestigious in the United States. Studying architecture is by no means effortless. Nor is it cheap. On average, student-architects pay around $100,000 of the total tuition to obtain a high degree. Therefore, it is no wonder that many can't afford it and look for various financial aid programs, like grants and scholarships. This article reveals a list of architecture scholarships in the U.S., along with eligibility and submission criteria.

Eligibility and Submission Criteria

            It is critical to point out eligibility and submission criteria in the first place. Knowing what the committee requires helps understand whether it's worth taking chances and applying for a particular program. Of course, every scholarship is unique. What one program may request may be unnecessary for another. Still, some elements tend to be omnipresent. Typically, when it comes to eligibility, students often should:

     - Be 18 years old or more

     - Have a GPA of 3.0 or above

     - Hold a U.S. citizenship or a permanent resident

Regarding submissions, candidates have to complete their applications by attaching:

     - Transcript of records

     - Resume

     - Portfolio

     - Letter of recommendation

     - Essay


Citing a former committee member who now works as a college essay writer, "The committee often pays close attention to the written part, as it gives insights on an individual's mindset and goals." That's why it is crucial to compose a sound application essay.

ProNet David W. Lakamp Scholarship

            The ProNet Dawid W. Lakamp Scholarship offers financial support for fourth-year students in a NAAB accredited degree program. Also, the program considers first-year students in a NAAB accredited Master of Architecture degree course. The latter is suitable for those who have undergraduate degrees in other disciplines. The Scholarship chooses two recipients, granting both $5,000.

AEI Emerging Leaders Scholarship

            The AEI Emerging Leaders Scholarship is available to architecture graduates and experts who stand out in architectural engineering. To qualify for the program, candidates must:

     - Have under ten years of relevant experience

     - Have a pertinent degree

     - Contribute to the field of architectural engineering (or demonstrate an in-depth understanding of technical processes)

     - Be involved in local community development activities

The award amount varies. The deadline is set for March 11, 2022.

Architects Foundation Diversity Advancement Scholarship

            In collaboration with the American Institute of Architects, the Architects Foundation created the Diversity Advancement Scholarship to help minority students obtain a degree in architecture and gain relevant experience in the field. To be eligible, applicants should meet typical requirements, such as:

     - Be a U.S. citizen or have a permanent residence

     - Have a minimum 3.0 GPA

Every candidate must also be a high school senior, second-year architecture student, or a technical school graduate who plans to enroll in an architecture course. The deadline varies. The award amount is $20,000.

AIA Chicago Foundation Graduate Diversity Scholarship

            The scholarship focuses on students who study design within the architecture branch. The primary purpose of the AIA Chicago Foundation Graduate Scholarship is to increase diversity. The program is available for students who do M.A. degrees accredited by NAAB. These are the Illinois Institute of Technology, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, the University of Illinois at Chicago. The award will be administered once the recipient completes the first semester of the program. The award amount is $10,000. The deadline is due March 20, 2022.

AIA Silicon Valley William R. Hawley Scholarship      

             The American Institute of Architects offers the program focusing on current or graduate students in Silicon Valley, specifically Santa Clara County, CA. The program aims to support architecture newbies who have completed at least two years of college. The great thing about the program is that it allows recipients to reapply for the scholarship. The deadline is April 3, 2022. The award amount is $5,000.

Architects Foundation Payette Sho-Ping Chin Memorial Academic Scholarship

            Rising female architects have an outstanding chance to receive substantial support. The Foundation offers a $10,000 financial aid to a female student doing an M.A. or B.A. degree accredited by NAAB. Also, to qualify, candidates have to be in their ultimate or penultimate year of studies, have an average of a minimum of 3.0 or higher, and hold U.S. citizenship.

Architects League of Northern New Jersey Scholarships

            Students who live and study in Sussex, Hudson, Bergen, or Passaic counties of New Jersey and attend a NAAB accredited architecture school can apply for the Architects League of Northern New Jersey scholarship. Incoming students, current undergraduates, and graduates are eligible to apply. The organization offers four scholarships totaling $6,000. The application deadline is set for May 5, 2022.

Charles E. Peterson Prize Fellowship

            The Athenaeum of Philadelphia offers a $15,000 grant for applicants who demonstrate solid experience in architecture and design. Candidates must demonstrate excellent performance and have a terminal degree. The scholarship is available for applicants who research any topics, though subjects related to the Delaware Valley are preferred. The committee comprises proficient architects, architectural historians, and educators, which makes competition extremely high. The application deadline is March 1, 2022.

CINTAS Foundation Fellowship in Architecture and Design

            The Foundation covers a wide area of architecture and design, allowing people working in interior design and urban planning to apply for a scholarship. Importantly, candidates should possess Cuban citizenship or be descended from a Cuban ancestor. Before applying for a scholarship, applicants should finish their studies and hold a degree. The committee also asks to attach candidates’ architectural drawings after the grant period. The award amount is $20,000. The deadline is due May 1, 2022.

EPP Undergraduate Scholarship Program

            The program is looking for students who already have their sophomore year behind them. Applicants must attend minority-serving institutions. Apart from that, students must focus on environmental disciplines related to architecture. Candidates with U.S. citizenship, attending accredited educational institutions, and maintaining a GPA of 3.2 or above are eligible to apply. The total amount awarded is $45,000. The application deadline is January 31, 2022.

By Naser Nader Ibrahim

Share on:


Norma Woods -
Your post is completely awesome! Currently I am a writer at https://essaysprofessors.com/ and also a former student of Architectural and Linguistic Universities (sounds strange) but I loved and still adore both architecture and writing. Even I was so good student that got two scholarships, I was really motivated student. now I am a motivated writer and help students overcome some of the academic difficulties, because I know that such can arise sometimes.

Related articles